Saturday, May 02, 2015

Book Review: The League of Beastly Dreadfuls

THE LEAGUE OF BEASTLY DREADFULS by Holly Grant is the first book in a new Victorian era fantasy series featuring quirky characters, creepy settings, and a daring escape.
After being told that her parents have been in an accident, Anastasia is forced to live with two strange old ladies that claim to be her long lost great aunts. She is soon immersed in a demented world of mystery and suspense with a hint of horror. This bizarre fantasy will appeal to children who enjoy witty, dark humor.
From the bizarre characters to the weird settings, Grant’s colorful descriptions will immerse readers into her wacky world. The author has filled the pages with off-the-wall elements including invented, Victorian era book titles, signs, and artifacts.
Librarians will easily find an audience for this far out fantasy. Aimed at the middle grades, children will enjoy the peculiar story and unconventional writing style. Fans of Roald Dahl, Trenton Lee Stewart, and Lemony Snicket will be attracted to the dry, dark humor and look forward to the next book in this new series.
The series website contains book club questions, a name generator, silly Victorian horoscopes, and lots of other fun activities that can be printed out.
To learn more about the book and the author, go to the series website at
Published by Random House for Young Readers on April 28, 2015.